It wasn't too long ago that I panicked at the loss of my pvr. I was really worried because between the kids and work and my husband's schedule, there was little time for me. The pvr gave me the freedom to save things I like and catch up on my time. It's been a while now and I can say we do not miss it. We probably watch 80% less tv now. No point of watching an episode if we've missed 3 episode prior. We cheat a little. On demand functions allow us to view certain shows and if I really want something I can find it on the internet. But overall there are few things worth making the time for or hunting down.
So why bring this up now? I don't know if it's my age or my awareness but I am getting really tired of being spoon fed cultural garbage. I have become hyper aware of how hard society is trying to influence us every second of everyday. I feel an even greater pull to "drop off the grid" than I have before.
So what's next in our downsize? I think we are going to drop cable TV. I would love to drop internet too but it is almost impossible to live and work in today's age without being connected. So for that I will wait until we don't need to work in "connected" jobs to pay the bills. Somewhere off grid in our tiny home, sitting on the porch and watching the cars go by. That's the dream.
The TV cancellation will save us $55/month and countless hours of time! We will do it, just after the last episode of my favourite reality show next week ;)
No comments:
Post a Comment